About Us

1224 (Wharfedale) Squadron provides the young people of Ilkley and Wharfedale with opportunities in a military based environment which include flying, gliding, target shooting, drill, first aid training, leadership training and much more.

The Squadron parades twice a week, on Mondays and Thursdays from 1900-2130.

You can join the Air Training Corps (ATC) if you are between 12 and 17 years old. Beyond that there are no other restrictions at all. Uniform is provided for you and almost all activities such as Flying, Gliding and Shooting are free. The cost of joining our Squadron is £10 a month which is very reasonably priced for what you get. For more information on what we get up to inside the Corps check out the 'Activities' page. The Air Cadets is an excellent way of meeting new people and getting involved in activities you would not get the chance to experience anywhere else. If you are interested please get in touch!

Meet The Team


Squadron Commander
Flt Lt Wayne Yeadon


Fg Off Cheryl Lee


Training Officer
Fg Off Tom Smith


Squadron Warrant Officer
WO David Wood


Drill & Discipline
WO Russ Melton


Fieldcraft Officer
WO Andy Porter


Shooting Officer
FS Luke Dowling


Media & Communications Officer
FS Sam White


Advenure Training Officer
FS Scott Watson


Sports Officer
Sgt Tom St John


Civilian Instructor
CI Tim Fawdry


Civilian Instructor
CI Claire Giffen

Squadron History

Our Squadron first paraded on 14th March 1941 as 1224 (Ilkley) Squadron and has remained a viable unit for almost 80 years.

Originally based at Ilkley Grammar School on Cowpasture Road, The Squadron was later housed in premises at the rear of Kings Hall.

Ilkley Squadron was eventually merged with 279 (Otley) Squadron to form 1224 (Wharfedale) Squadon and now has premises on Ashlands Road.

Squadron Commanders

1941 - 1943 - Flt Lt F.D. Marshall

1943 - ???? - Flt Lt J.C. Findlay

1950's/60's - Flt Lt Wally Holmes

Circa 1966 - Flt Lt J.Waterhouse

1968 - 1972 - Flt Lt B.A Andrews

1972 - ???? - Flt Lt R.E. Griffiths

Circa 1979 - Flt Lt R. Henley

Circa 1986 - Flt Lt Trevor Jones

1988 - 1991 - Flt Lt Malcolm Bates

1991 - 2010 - Flt Lt John Hitchen

2010 - 2013 - Flt Lt Sue Leighton

2013 - 2015 - WO (ATC) David Wood

2015 - Present - Flt Lt W.Yeadon